Planning Commission


The Planning Commission is responsible for reviewing and approving all residential development plats and commercial site plans, as well as recommending zoning districts and property annexations. The Planning Commission has delegated to City staff the authority to review and approve commercial site plans of 50,000 square feet or less, with the understanding that it reserves the right to review any and all site plans.

The City of Springfield Planning Commission consists of 9 members, 6 of whom are nominated by their respective aldermen to represent their wards for staggered 4-year terms. Of these, 2 of the members serve 2-year terms, 1 of whom is appointed by the Mayor to represent the Planning Region and the other is a member of the Board of Mayor and Aldermen appointed by that body. The other member of the Planning Commission is the Mayor or a person at-large appointed by the Mayor to serve a 4-year term.

Visit the client submittal schedule page for due dates. 
The Planning Department requires applications to be submitted thirty (30) days prior to the meeting to allow for advertising.

City Departments must pre-approve all projects going to the PC before the Client Submittal Deadline date. Projects that are pre-approved and meet the Client Submittal Deadline will be on the following month PC agenda. All supporting documents are to be delivered to the Planning Department before 4 PM on the Client Submittal Deadline date.

Visit the Agenda Center to view all upcoming agendas. 

Regular Meetings

Planning Commission meetings will be held on the first Thursday of each month beginning at 5 p.m. The meeting will be held in the Boardroom of City Hall located at 405 North Main Street. View previous Planning Commission Meetings on the City of Springfield Youtube Channel.


  • Bob Bibb, Planning District          Term expires: June 30, 2026
  • Virginia Boyd, Ward 1
    Term expires: November 30, 2022
  • Tony Townsend, Ward 2
    Term expires: November 30, 2022
  • Buzzy Poole, Ward 3
    Term expires: November 30, 2022
  • Bettye Lynn Richert, Ward 4 Term expires: November 30, 2024

  • David Allen, Chairman Ward 5
    Term expires: November 30, 2024
  • Skylar Tackett, Ward 6
    Term expires: November 30, 2024
  • Dustin Thomas, at-large
    Term expires: November 30, 2024
  • Alderman Jeff Gragg, BMA          Term expires: June 30, 2023